Comic Books · Reviews

Snotgirl – Comic Book Review (Spoiler-Free)

snotgirl

Hello everyone 😀 Today I bring you something a little different… A comic book review! (Or a comic series review, to be exact.)

I don’t know how many of you actually read comics but I hope you can still enjoy this post ❤ (If for nothing else, at least for the cover love… I mean, just look at it!) Also, the story revolves around a blogger, which is just so cool 🙂


This review is completely spoiler-free.

snotgirl1


 

synopsis

Lottie Person is a fashion blogger with a perfect life… On social media. In reality, Lottie’s allergies give her hell, her friendships are superficial and her boyfriend has decided to break up with her. When a mysterious girl appears, Lottie’s world turns upside down…

 

firstimpressions

I actually got this for my boyfriend on his birthday (he’s a big Scott Pilgrim fan) so I wasn’t exactly interested in reading it at first. It was only after opening it and seeing the art inside that I decide to give it a shot. It honestly looked so cute!

Plus, it’s about a blogger! (A fashion blogger, but a blogger nonetheless) So I was intrigued. In the end, though, we were both left a bit underwhelmed.

 

thesweet2

The artwork. It has this manga-like feeling to it, looking glossy and so cute you want to eat it. I wasn’t familiar with Leslie Hung‘s work but I’ve definitely become a fan! It goes really well with the story and makes the characters all the more interesting.

I think the author really succeeded in getting into a twenty something fashion blogger girl’s head. Which, for a dude in almost his forties, is quite an achievement. He even got the blogging/internet/texting lingo right, without making it sound super fake or forced.

I enjoyed how he explored the whole social media world and its superficiality. We really get a sense of what goes on in the life of these “influencers” and how they spend their time, their general thoughts, and their relationships.

Lottie can be quite the obnoxious and unlikable person, but I actually liked her. She was fascinating, in a very weird kind of way. I was also able to empathize with her and her issues (#struggles) even though I didn’t exactly experience them myself.

The fact that she was just the right amount of vulnerable and confident, naive and shrewd, really made her come to life. She’s the kind of person you feel you’ve met somewhere, at one point (and probably decided not to be friends). Plus, she owns up to her flaws and admits she’s not a nice person, which I find refreshing.

I really loved the unapologetic tone of this comic, as a whole. It was probably one of the reasons why it was so easy to connect with it. We all have our skeletons, after all.

 

thebitter1

The transitions were sometimes sloppy, which made the story confusing and hard to follow. There were moments where I felt really lost and unable to piece events together, thus failing to get the desired impact of what was happening.

It was like someone had ripped a page or two, because it definitely felt like something was missing in between scenes. I don’t know if it was on purpose or not, since the story does have a “mystery” vibe to it, but it didn’t work for me. It just made me feel frustrated.

The side characters were poorly explored. Again, I understand this might have been on purpose to illustrate just how self-centered Lottie is, but I would have liked to get to know her friends, ex, etc. a bit better. Their only purpose so far seems to be showing off Lottie’s crappy personality, which is fine but I was really looking forward to finding out more stuff about them.

It’s not like they’re likeable either, though, because they’re all pretty awful people. I think the only sane, coherent person in all of it was Esther, but she had so little screen time that you might as well blink and miss her.

Oftentimes, the characters felt unnecessarily sketchy and just plain weird. Their actions were never explained and Lottie never made a point to comment on them, which makes me think she either didn’t care or didn’t notice. They were all skimmed, at best.

 

finalthoughts2

I liked Snotgirl a lot, but there were just too many inconsistencies for me to truly love it.

The artwork was amazing and probably my favorite part of it. The story was cool enough, with many great details regarding the social media craze and its “influencers”. The main character, Lottie, was very well-designed and thought out, and really exposed the ugly side of being internet famous. The side characters were okay, for the most part, but needed some flesh in them.

All of it would have been enough if Snotgirl was just about the daily life of a twenty five year old fashion blogger making it in the real world. But it’s not. It has that “plot” going on that, in my opinion, was just too messy to work and left me feeling disoriented and annoyed.

I’m still hoping the next issue (coming out July 5th) will clear some things up, but I think it’ll be a while before everything is laid out. I also think Snotgirl needs to be read more than once, as my reading experience was much better the second time around.

Overall, I think this comic book is worth it. But maybe wait until more issues are out so you’re not left hanging like me…

 

Story & Plot: 3choco

Artwork: 4halfchoco-

Characters: 3choco

Pacing: 3halfchoco-

Enjoyment: 3halfchoco-

Final Rating:

3halfchoco-

***

Let me know if I should do more comic book reviews! 😊

Thank you so much for reading and until next time!

signature1


What did you think of this review? Have you heard of Snotgirl? (^་།^)

handmade-social-icons-100handmade-social-icons-03handmade-social-icons-04handmade-social-icons-29handmade-social-icons-11handmade-social-icons-114

41 thoughts on “Snotgirl – Comic Book Review (Spoiler-Free)

  1. I love comic books, but just as normal novels, I have fallen really behind on reading them. I have already decided to use the month of July on reading things, and taking a breather from watching anime and movies (but no, I can’t stop watching it completely love it too much for that). That also means that July will probably feature quite a lot of novel/comicbook reviews.
    This is the second time I came across a review for this comic. The first one hated it, but yours is absolutely more positive. I have noted it down for future reference, but seeing my current backlog, it will probably take me a while to start on it.
    As always a fantastic review to read 😊

    Like

    1. I look forward to those reviews! 😉 Your insights are always great so I’m sure I’ll get some awesome recs out of it 🙂
      I could never hate Snotgirl. I think it does have its flaws and issues but overall it was quite entertaining and I enjoyed my time reading it. Plus, the art! ❤ There were times where I would groan at the pages, but not too much.
      My boyfriend and I agree that it's a very shallow comic. Meaning, both the characters and the story itself don't have that much substance to them. Which is a shame because I really wanted to know more!
      I'm still very intrigued about what is happening and I think that, above anything else, drives me forward. Otherwise, there isn't much to work with.
      I really hope the next issues shed some light on it and change my mind about this comic!
      Thank you so much for the lovely words! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I read manga comics but only few Comics. This sounds interesting! I’m glad you enjoyed it despite the issues. I’m currently looking forward to Monstress Volume 2 By Marjorie M. Liu. It’s an amazing comic with beautiful art, badass heroine and interesting story.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I’ve seen that one on your blog before! I have to pick it up sometime 🙂 It sounds really awesome!
      Yeah, I read tons of manga (even if I used to read a lot more) but not that many comics. Strangely, I never reviewed manga hahaha I need to change that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I like the comic books review. I don’t read a ton of them so I pick them base on reviews I see, so I like hearing about the new ones coming out, or old favourites.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Now I just want to eat chocolate 😀 hahaha… seriously, though.. great review for a comic book… I’m so fussy when it comes to GNs… I flip through to see the art work and decide based on that thus probably missing out on quite a lot of good and worthy stories… Brilliant review and an interesting sounding comic book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahah sorry about that 😛
      Yeah I’m quite vain about my comics too… If the artwork is not great, even if the story is superb, I’ll probably skip it. It bothers me but I can’t just shut it off and try to appreciate bad artwork XD I do that with books a lot too – judge them by the cover, and get disappointed more often than not.
      Thank you so much, Liz! ❤ It is interesting but I definitely need more issues before making a proper judgement of the series as a whole 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha no worries! I haven’t read that many either 😛
      Hmm… Maybe. It’s contemporary and revolves around blogging life, so it’s pretty relatable I think. The art is sooo cute and pleasing to the eye!
      The characters, like I said, will probably not appeal to everyone, though. They’re not very likeable LOL
      There’s also a mystery component I’m not too fond of and it can be a bit weird at times but at 144 pages I think it’s alright to give it a shot.
      I’d love to hear your thoughts on it, Krysti! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I totally understand the whole “missing pages” thing with certain comics. It can get quite frustrating when the flow is absent or not managed by the author. It really sounds like the transition wasn’t even taken into consideration in the whole writing process. I definitely wouldn’t have enjoyed this too much if the characters were so… under-developed. The artwork does sound awesome and it’s nice to hear that you still enjoyed this as a whole at the end of the day. Hopefully, if you ever pick up the next volumes, it’ll be a much better experience! Excellent review, Sophie! 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I certainly hope so! The series is not bad at all, but it lacks… Something.
      I was super confused when I first read it but the second time around was a lot better. Maybe because I paid more attention to details and already knew what to expect, so I could piece things together a lot easily.
      Still, if a comic needs to be read twice to be remotely understandable, you ought to have done something wrong, I think.
      And I’m not talking about finding new, exciting details in it that you might have missed. I’m talking about missing entire plot points and, apparently, pages! Because I certainly had a hard time following it.
      Thank you so much yet again! ❤ You rock 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. That’s funny.. the title and the snot on her nose.. haha.. I do like the sound of this comic book being about a blogger. It’s always fun to read about another blogger because we can definitely relate to 🙂 I’m glad the artwork win you over. I’m beginning to like reading graphic novels because of the artwork too 🙂 Great review Sophie!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Jasmine! ❤️ I’m glad you are, there are many awesome ones out there 😊
      I’d say it’s a bit relatable… But I honestly hope no one relates 100% to either of the characters because they’re really messed up hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah I’m still giving it the benefit of the doubt as it’s not over yet and I want to find out what happens next. If by the end nothing has changed and my feelings remain the same, then yes I will be very disappointed!
      Like I said, the missing pages factor could be the author’s way of keeping the mystery alive, but it didn’t work for me. The side characters, I believe, will be explored later on as promised by the sixth issue’s summary. So we’ll see! (Can’t wait for July!!)
      Thank you so much, Donna! 😊 Glad you could still appreciate it despite not being a fan ❤

      Like

  7. I started reading comic books about a year and a half ago and I absolutely love them, but I have to really like its artwork otherwise I can’t get into the story.
    The artwork of Snotgirl looks great, but under-developed and unlikeable secondary characters do tend to annoy me. But nevertheless, I’m still interested in Snotgirl because the sweet stuff you mentioned sounds so good!
    This is a great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! Which ones are your favorites? 😊
      Yeah, I’m the same… It could be the best thing ever but if the artwork is not my cup of tea then I’ll just skip it. This one is super cute, though! But unless the story gets better with following issues I won’t be calling it a favorite anytime soon. It’s pretty good but needs to be more.
      I’m glad you’re still willing to give it a go! Maybe you’ll enjoy it more than I did ^^ At least, I hope so!
      Thank you so much, Gemma ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I don’t usually read comic books, which is a shame, because I know there are amazing ones out there, but it’s just a thing I was really into when I was younger and not so much anymore … maybe I could change that one day! This one sounds pretty interesting, I’m glad you enjoyed it! I’ll let you read a few more issues before making up my mind about it, I trust your taste 😛 Great review ^^

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I’ve been trying to get into reading comics and/or manga lately and now I know where to start!
    This sounds like such a delightful read – perhaps a bit cliché in terms of plot, but nonetheless seems like a fun summer read!
    I look forward to reading more posts by you in the future!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply! I Promise to Answer and Comment Back on Your Blog ASAP :)

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.