Other

10 Books That Lived Up to The Hype

booksthatliveduptothehype

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a wonderful weekend 😊

I’ve been wanting to write this post for a while now, since it’s something that majorly impacts my reading. And, you know, to have some diverse content on the blog besides tags and reviews XD

I have to admit, sometimes hyped books turn me off completely to the point where I just don’t even want to read them. However, there were some exceptions that became some of my favorite books of all time.

So here are my top ten books that lived up to their hype (in my opinion, of course, and in no particular order):


The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

cinder

It took me the longest time before I decided to read Cinder. The synopsis didn’t grab my attention at all and I was intent on passing it altogether. For some reason, my brain decided it just wasn’t all that interesting (what the heck, brain!).

I’m so glad I decided to give it a go, though, because it has revealed to be an incredibly cohesive and amazing series, and each book is somehow even better than the last!


The Winner’s Trilogy by Marie Rutkoski

winner's curseThe Winner’s Trilogy covers always made me think of The Selection, and that’s probably why I didn’t care for them at first. I thought they had a similar theme, which didn’t interest me at all.

But after paying some real attention to what the story was about, I gave in and read it. And adored it! I felt so misled… Just one of those cases where the covers don’t do the story any justice and almost made me miss out on an amazing story and OTP!


Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes

12954620When you see someone comparing this series to A Song of Ice and Fire, your curiosity (but mostly your scepticism) will inevitably spike. I didn’t go in thinking it would be exactly like George R. R. Martin’s work, which just wouldn’t be reasonable. But I was incredibly intigued to see just what made fans come up with that connection.

I have to say, there are some nice resemblances here and there. But besides the obvious fact that this is YA and written by someone whose background is paranormal romance, it could never be ASOIAF. It has its ups and downs and while it’s not the most solid of series, I think the first book surpassed my expectations completely.


Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas

51hj16yliclSarah J. Maas was one of the first YA authors I got into shortly before starting the blog. I saw her books everywhere and thought “Well, might as well see what the fuss is about.” The plot was really interesting and every book blogger raved about it. So, needless to say, I was very hopeful.

After starting it, I couldn’t put it down, and even though the last few books in the series have greatly disappointed me, I’m still very much in love with the first two installments. You’ll find a very divided fandom in it, but overall I think Throne of Glass was absolutely worth the hype.


A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab

A Darker Shade final for IreneV. E. Schwab was, I think, more famous than all her books put together. Everyone talked about her in every social media available, yet it still took me the longest time before I decided to read A Darker Shade of Magic. It had just come out and was apparently her best work so far, which I can’t attest to because I haven’t read anything else by her, so naturally, a great place to start.

It was amazing and I definitely recommend it to everyone! Amazing characters, amazing plot, amazing pace… Amazing everything! I still have to read the sequels but, so far, it absolutely earns a spot in this list.


The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh Bardugo

10194157Leigh Bardugo was another incredibly famous author that needed no introduction. She was EVERYWHERE. Everyone raved about her, everyone read her books, and I thought I’d give it some time before actually trying them.

When I did, though, I was so mesmerized, so attached to the story and its characters… It was an absolutely pleasant surprise as I was not expecting to love it so much! It remains one of my favorites to this day, and although most people seemed dissatisfied by the ending, I thought it was actually super fitting and very satisfactory.


Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge

19This one was highly praised for its uniqueness and boldness. I think it’s one of those books that people will either hate or love, just because of how strange it is.

I actually loved it, even if I can recognize some of its not so great qualities. The despicable characters, especially the heroine, were refreshing and intrigued me. The story itself can be confusing at times but, overall, it’s a beautiful tale told in a beautiful way.


Daughter of the Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller

33643994Despite its flaws, this book has a special place in my heart. I loved the characters, the story, everything about it, really. And even though some good blogger friends of mine had told me countless times to read it, it stil took a while before I managed to do it. I was SO SCARED to be let down by it.

In the end, it got the complete opposite reaction: I loved it so much I couldn’t put it down, and it finally took me out of my reading slump!


Graceling by Kristin Cashore

3236307This has got to be the purest book in existence. I know it has a few years but it actually remained quite popular up until 2015, which was when I first found out about it and read it.

The characters are phenomenal, the story is so gritting and raw, and it makes me get all the feels whenever I think about it. Also, best OTP ever! I desperately need to read the sequels, especially Bitterblue, which seems to be the best out of the three.


Penryn & The End of Days by Susan Ee

15863832I didn’t think I’d ever get so emotional about a paranormal romance like I did with this one. At first glance, Angelfall looks and feels just like any other post-apocalyptic story where the characters must go through many ordeals in order to survive. But it’s actually so much more than that!

The plot gets incredibly dark as the series progresses and you become really invested in it, to the point where some scenes might choke you. An amazing book disguised as an average book.

 


So that’s it! I hope you enjoyed this post πŸ™‚ I’m thinking of writing one about the books that didn’t live up to their hype, so let me know if you would like that.

Thank you so much for reading and until next time!

signature1


What did you think of my choices? What are some more hyped up books that you think could make the list? b(~_^)d

handmade-social-icons-100handmade-social-icons-03handmade-social-icons-04handmade-social-icons-29handmade-social-icons-11handmade-social-icons-114

Save

Save

Save

Save

83 thoughts on “10 Books That Lived Up to The Hype

    1. Thank you so much, Tracey! ^^ Oh, awesome! Throne of Glass and Crown of Midnight were absolutely amazing… I’m still hoping Tower of Dawn redeems the rest of the series, though.
      I hope you enjoy the others! πŸ™‚ And thank you so much for commenting ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome! I have to admit Heir of Fire was probably my favourite 😊 not sure what I’m going to make of Tower of Dawn, I’m not a huge Chaol fan so I’m hoping it will change my mind about him πŸ€”

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Definitely agree with you about the Lunar Chronicles! I avoided reading them for a long time because I thought it didn’t sound like my thing- but they’re amazing! I also agree with you about the Grisha Trilogy, I was super into those books and I thought the ending was great!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, so glad I wasn’t the only one! XD Honestly, I sometimes get the weirdest feeling about a book that is completely wrong and unfounded and I don’t know why! My brain is such an idiot hahaha
      Oh you did? I’m happy someone else shares my opinion, at last! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. These books certainly lived up to the hype. I absolutely adore the Lunar Chronicles, and the Shades of Magic trilogy is already one of my favorites of all time. THANK YOU for mentioning Graceling. I’ve read that book so many times. I cannot get enough of Po and Katsa. They’re an amazing couple. Also Penryn turned out to be an above average trilogy that’s hard to put down. Raffe and Penryn are also one of my favorites! Great list, Sophie! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yay, so glad to know you love those too, Azia! And I know, right?? They are the sweetest thing ever, and I just wished there were more books about them (I know they’re in the sequels but briefly, and it’s not the same 😦 ) Raffe and Penryn are one of my favorite couples too! ❀
      Thank you so much, darling!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I refused to read Throne of Glass and the Lunar Chronicles for the longest time because of the hype. Sometimes hype has a negative effect. So glad I decided to read them and form my own opinion! They were amazing!

    1. Yeah, I’m definitely the same! To me, hype means trouble… I usually wait out before I dive into the book and always try to keep my expectations as low as possible – which sometimes works wonders πŸ˜‰
      I’m glad you enjoyed them! It’s always good to see for ourselves, I think ^^ Never believe everything you read/hear!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Ooooooh, love this post, Sophie. I have read about half, I think, and the ones I did I SUPER agree with you. I’m super glad that you did include a few other ones I’ve been eyeing but have been scared to try because they were super hyped up. V.E. Schwab’s books are one of those. My best friend is reading them now, too, and now I’m finally starting to get super excited to read them. Angelfall, I always see really good reviews, but as you said, at first glance, I thought it was just a post war book. I might definitely have to check it out then. Wonderful recommendations!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Mandy!!! ❀ Oh I'm so happy you're getting excited about them! I've only read this one but I'm sure I'll love the sequels as well… There's just no way I won't (I hope?)
      I highly recommend Angelfall ^^ It definitely made me almost shed a tear here and there. It tugs at your heart like nobody's business! And I just wasn't ready for that… Plus, the romance is adorable! Just, ugh, I want to hug those characters so bad!
      Let me know if you do end up reading any of these! I'd love to know what you thought of them πŸ™‚ Thank you again!! ❀

      Like

    1. Oh yes, read it!! I’m almost positive you’ll enjoy it! 😊 It’s my personal opinion but I’m in the minority when I say ToG’s first two installments were the best out of the entire series… Only way one to find out, I guess πŸ˜›
      I can’t wait to know what you thought of them! Thanks so much for reading Kate! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a great blog idea Sophie! πŸ˜€ I agree with you, a Darker Shade of Magic and The Grisha trilogy are so good! (although I’ve only read the first novel in the Grisha trilogy, I can’t wait to read the last two!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Meghan! ❀ Glad to hear you liked it ^^
      Oh, I hope you enjoy the last two (I think it's impossible not to but still)! They're definitely different from Shadow and Bone but I really liked how it all turned out in the end πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I have to admit I haven’t read a lot of these, but based on what I’ve heard all around the blogosphere this list is totally accurate! A Darker Shade of Magic is on the top of my tbr right now, along with A Court of Thorns and Roses and Six of Crows πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well, there’s always some mixed reviews here and there and considering we all have such diverse tastes, it’s really up to each of us to form an opinion of our own. Personally, I recommend all of these! Like, a lot! πŸ˜€
      I have ACOTAR and Six of Crows on my TBR too. Now that ACOWAR is out I feel it’s time to finally read the trilogy hahaha And after such an epic series like Grisha, I can’t wait to read more from Bardugo ^^
      Thanks for reading, Sarah! ❀

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Graceling has been on my list forever and all I hear are good things πŸ˜„ I definitely intend to get my hands on a copy as soon as possible now! And I’m yet to read any V E Schwab but it’s right at the top of my TBR! Thanks for the recommendations 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Graceling is amazing, I really hope you enjoy it! ADSOM is my first one by Schwab and I want to read the sequels first before I get into any of her other series. Although I’m pretty sure they’ll be equally awesome 😊
      No problem! And thank you so much for reading, Lyndsey ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I thought I was going to hate Cruel Beauty back when I read it, but I thought it was pretty awesome. You have some good ones on the list! There’s nothing more disappointing than getting hyped up about a book and then it’s a big letdown.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I might have thought so too at the time, but it was definitely a pleasant surprise! Thank you so much, Kiersten 😊 And absolutely, one of the worst fears of a bookworm I think, is to be disappointed by a hyped up book. First one being getting spoiled hahaha

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I just finished the Grisha Trilogy and I LOVED it!!! It was soooooo good. Now I am reading the Six of Crows duology (just started Crooked Kingdom) and it is absolutely brilliant. I love when books live up to the hype!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Amazing list!
    I love the Lunar Chronicles! I didn’t care so much for it in the beginning with the first book but it kept getting better and better!
    I haven’t read some of the others yet but Falling Kingdoms is a high priority of mine! It sounds so amazing!! And also Throne of Glass since everyone seems to love it and I already started with the ACOTAR series πŸ˜›
    The only one I can’t really decide in reading is The Grisha Trilogy… I read Six of Crows and loved it but I heard so many mixed feeling on the trilogy…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 😊
      Oh I’m glad to know! Yeah Cinder is definitely the weakest one in the series… Falling Kingdoms is awesome! I think the later books got a bit sloppier and not as great, but still very enjoyable.
      I have a hate/love relationship with the ToG series at the moment hahaha But we’ll see.
      I personally loved Grisha, but I get what you mean. People mainly disliked the ending, which I thought was awesome. So to each their own!
      In the end, I recommend reading them and forming your own opinion. I hope you enjoy them ^^
      Thanks so much for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

  11. I am in love with this list!!! So many great books! πŸ˜€

    I loved the Grisha trilogy and I was very emotional at the end but I still would have liked Alina to end up with someone else πŸ˜›

    AND YES TO ANGELFALL!!! I read it a few weeks ago and I had actually never heard about it before! I actually felt like it was such an underrated book! But it was so so good and I need to continue with the series ASAP! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, so happy you think so, Jackie! ❀️❀️❀️
      Oh many people did… I guess I’m lucky that my ship has sailed XD (they usually don’t, so I was very excited!)
      There was some hype around the blogosphere when I first read it but I agree, Angelfall is not nearly as famous as the others.
      I hope you enjoy the rest of the series! 😊 I’d definitely recommend getting some tissues though…

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Great post, and yet another reminder that I am so behind on reading books. I haven’t read any of these, and some of them I have not even heard of (I know, shame on me right lol πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚). But it is always nice to have a few more ideas for books to read. I hope you will do the post for the books that did not live up to the hype. (It is also nice to know that I can skip on a few books πŸ˜‚)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much, Michel! 😊❀️
      Oh these are mainly YA and romance so I’m not sure you’d like them… But do give them a try if you’d like! They are so awesome (to me, anyway XD)
      And make some time for books too! I’d love to read more about them in your blog ^^ The comic posts are great too, of course.
      I’ll try to get it ready either tomorrow or next week. I have a review to post too. We’ll see which one I decide to work on first hahaha
      Thank you once again! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  13. Very interesting list, the only one I have read is Cinder and I agree, I wasn’t a huge fan of the synopsis but I tried it anyways and really liked it. I have heard of Angelfall but I know very little of it to be honest, I added it to my TBR because it sounded interesting when I read a review a while back, but I had sort of forgotten about it until now.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. YES! The Lunar Chronicles and the Winner’s Curse are two of my favorite series so it makes me thrilled to see them on your list. They’re both so, so good. πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous post! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Ahhh fantastic post! Got to admit that it really sucks when a realllllyy hyped up books doesn’t manage to live up to expectations though. I do love when they do and they truly blow our minds! Funny thing is that I haven’t read ANYTHING on this list hahahah I do REALLY hope to read A Darker Shade of Magic and its two sequels in the near future. It has been on my TBR for wayyyy too long. πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Oh thanks so much Lashaan! 😊 Yeah me too, that’s why I enjoyed compiling this list and get sort of discussion going on. It’s always fun to compare opinions and get some recommendations!
      I loved all of these books (obviously) but I know some people won’t.
      I highly, highly recommend Schwab’s series, though. I think it caters to such a diverse audience, it’s fairly impossible not to like it, no matter your tastes. She writes beautifully and the pace is fantastic. You don’t get a dull moment. The characters are superb as well.
      I can’t wait to see what you thought about them! Time to dig ADSOM out of your TBR, I think πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! 😊 Oh I’m glad you liked them too! Yeah, Penryn is not that hyped up when compared to my other choices so I probably shouldn’t have included it here… But I did see it a lot around the blogosphere for a while. It’s awesome that you guys love it so much too <3<3

      Liked by 1 person

  16. Fantastic list! I’ve read a few of these, and the rest are definitely on my TBR. It’s reassuring to hear you liked these! A lot of these are series I’ve read the first book for, but just never got around to finishing. 😦 I may just have to reread the first books; I know they’re worth it!

    Like

    1. Thank you, Amy! ❀️ I did make sure to mention whether I’ve finished the series or just the first book because I definitely didn’t want to mislead anyone if the series ended up being sucky XD
      I really hope you enjoy them if you decide to continue them! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  17. The Shades of Magic series totally lived up to the hype oh my gosh. I’ve never been so grateful to hype, honestly. πŸ˜€ YOU MUST READ THE SEQUELS THOUGH. ❀ You'll love them!! I love The Lunar Chronicles so much as well, those were so hype-worthy as well. Love this so much, I agree with so many of them!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. This is such a neat idea. Would you mind if I borrowed it for my blog? lol. I am always looking for topics and ideas.
    I think having a post on those that didn’t live up to the hype would be a good idea as well. Because there are some books that were like why is this so hyped up? lol.
    Great post! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  19. Great list!! I agree with you on so many of these – Cinder, Graceling, Throne of Glass, Angelfall, Shadow and Bone… all great books that really lived up to the hype. The only one on your list that didn’t quite live up to the hype for me personally was Winner’s Curse. A good friend of mine adored it so I expected to adore it too, and while I did like it, I didn’t connect with the characters and story as much as I wanted to. Perhaps if I’d come at it with less expectations I’d have appreciated it more, who knows! I’m still planning to read the sequel at some point though, perhaps that will change my feelings on it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Nicola! 😊 I’m glad you think so too!
      Yeah I can understand that. High expectations usually lead to disappointment…
      I’m not sure what mine were at the time I started reading it, but I had the exact opposite experience. I really started to feel for the characters and care for them as if they were real. There were really hard to stomach moments, especially in the sequels but I couldn’t put the books down.
      The plot took many turns and sometimes I wasn’t too sure what would happen. It kept me interested and rooting for those involved.
      I hope the sequels do change your mind 😊 I find them so different from the first book, as well as from each other. It might be a bad thing for some readers, but it didn’t bother me at all. It might work for you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes I did start to warm to the characters more toward the end of the book, and I enjoyed some of those tense, conflict-filled moments, as well as the hard to stomach moments, (it definitely wasn’t an easy romance, and I liked that about it), so I think there’s hope for me yet with this one. If the next book is a bit different that probably bodes well too! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Exactly, one of the main reasons I enjoyed this trilogy so much was the amazing romance. It was never cheesy or eye-rolling… It was mostly painful and heartbreaking! But there were reasons for it. The author didn’t just decide to create angst out of thin air. The story and pairing were incredibly intertwined, and worked really well together. Overall, it was a really emotional and intense read!
          I hope you end up with a similar opinion 😊 Let me know what you think of it after you read it!

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

