Books · Reviews

Daughter of the Pirate King – Book Review (Spoiler-Free)

daughter

Hi guys 🙂 How are you all doing this fine day?

So I recently finished a much awaited novel, one my good friends Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews and Krysti @ YA & Wine recommended so much I could not say no! Thank you so much girls for getting me pumped for this amazing book! ❤

This review is completely spoiler-free.

daughter

  • Title: Daughter of the Pirate King
  • Author: Tricia Levenseller
  • Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
  • Publication Date: February 28th, 2017
  • Page Count: 320

***Please don’t use any of the graphics in this post.***

synopsis

Alosa, daughter of the Pirate King, is sent on a mission by her father to retrieve a piece of an important map. She allows herself to be kidnapped on purpose in order to get aboard the famous Night Farer but despite an apparently flawless plan, some things (and some people) decide to get in the way and just make her mission even harder…

firstimpressions

I fell in love with the cover first and foremost. And as soon as I read the synopsis, I couldn’t want this book enough. I love pirates and everything to do with them, and I also love strong, kickass heroines. This promised both. I didn’t know if my expectations would be met and I was so scared to be disappointed, but I still tried my luck.

thesweet2.png

I have to say, I didn’t take too many notes on this one. Why? Because I completely forgot about it! Daughter of the Pirate King was such an engaging read, so ridiculously addicting and fast-paced I could not put it down.

This book starts with a bang. You are unceremoniously thrown into the action and the main character’s head and expected to handle the situation as well as humanly possible. It was a great way to help us connect with Alosa and get a sense of the kind of girl she is. Needless to say, she doesn’t disappoint.

She’s fierce, independent, witty, intelligent, wise and practical. She’s everything I look for in a heroine and more. There just seems to always be something lacking in other books. Not with Alosa. She was awesome.

Then there’s the romance. It’s so close to perfect, I can barely muster the coherency to describe it. All that seems to want to come out of me are squeals and aaawwws and… I just have a lot of feelings, okay? I’m pretty sure the romance made this book and obliterated all the bad things within it. It’ll also probably melt anyone on sight.

The love interest is so sweet and adorable. He’s never overbearing or acts like he has to protect Alosa or treat her like she’s made of glass – or worse, like a property. He allows her to have her space and do things her own way, and he trusts her implicitly (not that Alosa would allow it to be any other way, but still). There’s not one bad thing I can say about him, to be honest. He’s the perfect book boyfriend.

The plot actually revealed to be a lot more complex than I’d anticipated, too! It was a really pleasant surprise to see it unfolding and realize: wait, there’s even more of it!

I loved the fact that Alosa didn’t spend too much of her energy wondering about romance. She definitely had her priorities straight and kept focused on what she personally wanted, no matter the “distractions”. She still cared, though, and the whole thing just felt natural and flew really well.

There were also really great female friendship moments. Alosa’s friends are all super cool in their own unique way and it was lovely watching them interact and bond. Their loyalty towards her was really heart-warming and another indicator of just how incredible Alosa is.

There was another amazing relationship going on too that was just the cherry on top.

thebitter1

Some parts were a bit confusing. There seemed to be times where the author kind of forgot about an important detail, only to remember to bring it up a few pages down so the story would make sense. Or at least, that’s what it felt like to me.

I kept asking myself things like “Wait. Didn’t that happen? So how can she…? Didn’t he…? But then how could it…?” Thankfully, despite sounding more like afterthoughts than anything else, the explanations were still there so it was not so bad.

Repetition. At one point in the book it feels like some things are just repeating themselves over and over again. And even though it makes sense for the story to happen like that, it was still something I was not super into at first. Fortunately, these scenes always ended up being quite interesting anyway. I just wished we’d got more action and adventure!

The novel wasn’t super predictable, but I did guess two major plot points. Also, the writing wasn’t incredibly consistent throughout: sometimes they spoke like true pirates, and sometimes they didn’t. It wasn’t very noticeable but when you’re really into the story, you do see it.

Despite being impressed with the plot’s direction, it still felt a bit like the author wasn’t very sure of it and kept making it up as she went. Which didn’t bother me too much but could be a deal-breaker for a lot of people.

The ending. I still can’t tell whether it was totally perfect or totally unsatisfying. Maybe both?

finalthoughts2

This is one of those books I didn’t want to finish. I was actually really sad about it! And I wasn’t even trying to read it quickly, it just happened. It felt like I’d discovered my love for reading again. Or, at least, come out of a reading slump (finally!)

Besides including a kickass heroine, an equal parts adorable and heated romance, interesting and fleshed out characters and a really cool plot, I really don’t have much more to say about this book. It was so amazing and I could not fangirl enough. Plus, I now have another OTP.

If you enjoy pirate stories with a great romance, you might enjoy this one. I’ve heard some harsh critics about it but I honestly loved it, flaws and all. I might actually re-read it soon, which I rarely do!

That said, I can understand why hardcore pirate fans would not be into it. It’s not as intricate as some other tales, nor does it feature as much action and adventure as it probably could. Most of the story takes place within a ship and, despite admirable efforts, it does still revolve a bit too much around romance for it to appeal to non-fans of the genre.

Overall, highly recommend for YA and romance addicts. I can’t wait for that sequel!

Story & Plot: 4choco

Writing & Style: 4choco

Characters: 5choco

Pacing: 5choco

Final Rating:

4halfchoco

Thank you so much for reading and until next time!

signature1


What did you think of this review? Have you read Daughter of the Pirate King yet? (⋆^-^⋆)

handmade-social-icons-100handmade-social-icons-03handmade-social-icons-04handmade-social-icons-29handmade-social-icons-11handmade-social-icons-114

Save

Save

28 thoughts on “Daughter of the Pirate King – Book Review (Spoiler-Free)

  1. I am even more excited to get my hands on this book!! I love pirates and kick-ass females, so this will be a great mix. I am really getting into a pirate lovin’ mood, especially since the next Pirates of the Caribean movie is coming out soon ^_^

    Like

  2. Sophie, I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed this book! I had so much fun reading it. I do agree that there are a couple plot points that are easy to guess. The book has such an amazing sense of adventure, I definitely enjoyed it regardless. It sounds like you did as well. 🙂 Great review!!!

    Like

  3. AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. I’m so glad you liked it, Sophie!!!!! I was really hoping I didn’t steer (haha, get it, steer. They’re on a pirate ship and they steer? Stop with the horrible puns, Mandy? Okay, fine. XD) wrong, so I’m super excited you loved it. I totally get your points about the bitter, and 100% agree with you the sweet. I fangirled all over again with the items you discussed. Wonderful, wonderful review, Sophie, and you said all the things I missed with my fangirling. XD YAY YAY YAY!

    Like

    1. YAAAAAAASSSSS MANDY!! OMG I loved it so much! Yeah there were things I didn’t enjoy as much but they were really unimportant when it came to the bigger picture. So glad you could agree with me, though!
      Fangirling forever!!! ALOSA ❤️ RIDEN ❤️
      And thank you so much, Mandy, it means the world to know you liked this 😊❤️❤️

      Like

  4. HOURRAH 4 your exit from slump-land! 😀 In all honesty though, I really have a hard time to think about classic pirate stories (you know any classics?). All that comes to mind is Captain Hook, although his character isn’t the sole focus of Peter Pan, so that ain’t exactly a pirate story, is it! 😀 I also totally understand the inconsistency in pirate-tongue. I would’ve probably found it troublesome myself! Fantastic review as always!! 🙂

    Like

  5. So glad that the romance worked in this book! Many times if that works a little confusion in the plot is endurable which sounds like the case here. It so great you have such good bookish friends! Count me intrigued!

    Like

  6. WOOOOOW, I absolutely loved reading your review!!! I’m feeling all giddy and excited now and I NEED. TO. READ. THIS! Like, as soon as possible!!!
    I love that you enjoyed this so much! And I can’t wait to get to know the characters and read about the romance that you seem to love so much! And someone you consider to be the perfect book boyfriend? AHHHHH! GIVE ME THIS BOOK RIGHT NOWWWW!!!! 😀 ❤

    Like

  7. Great Review! Despite the issues, I’m glad you loved it! I totally agree with the more action and adventure because most of plot centered around romance but it’s definitely an enjoyable read and I’m dying to read the next book! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thank you, Raven! 😊 Yeah thankfully it never felt too overwhelming, just the right amount.
      But still, I know some people who won’t enjoy it as much because they’re expecting a “true” pirate’s story full of action and adventures.
      Me too! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Excellent review Sophie! I do love that type of character “fierce, independent, witty, intelligent, wise and practical” and I’m glad the book is fun to read. The flaws does sounds distracting though.. but I’m glad the good outweighs the bad 🙂 I can’t wait to read it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

