Tags

This is My Genre, Tell Me Yours Tag

genre3

Hi guys! The always sweet Ava @ Reads, Rhythms & Ruminations tagged me (a couple months ago) to do this awesome tag created by Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek and I’m finally posting about it. I’m so sorry for taking so long! (╥﹏╥)

I hope you all enjoy it and please go check out Ava’s blog! She has amazing posts for your nerdy pleasure as well as really cool and unique features. You won’t be disappointed!

You should head over to Drew’s blog too, while you’re at it, for even more bookish content! He has tons of reviews and other great posts that will appeal to very diverse tastes.

***Don’t use any of the graphics in this post without permission.***

rules

  • Credit the badass Drew @The Tattooed Book Geek as the creator of the tag, either use the created tag name graphic or create your own and link back to his blog
  • Answer the questions
  • Tag as many people as you want

questions

What is your favourite genre?

Fantasy. It’s usually a lot more complex and requires so much more imagination on the author’s/reader’s part. There is always room for creation (even though most stories stem from previous works nowadays). It’s hard to be 100% original but almost everything can be rewritten and perfected.

Who is your favourite author from that genre?

I currently don’t have a favorite author. I want to really immerse myself in the genre first.

What is it about the genre that keeps pulling you back?

I love exploring fictional worlds and fantasy is usually master at that. The really good fantasy stories have entire nations, dialects, history, rules… And all made up! I just never get bored.

What is the book that started your love for your favorite genre?

I grew up reading literature inspired by the Grimm brothers, Hans Christian Anderson, Charles Perrault, Joseph Jacobs, etc. From a very young age, even before I could read myself, I was fascinated by those enchanting fairy tales where nothing seemed impossible. So they definitely shaped my interest for the genre.

If you had to recommend at least one book from you favorite genre to a non-reader/someone looking to start that genre, what book would you choose and why?

I think this is a very hard question because everyone has different tastes. It feels like an ever bigger responsibility to choose something that has to both appeal to any reader and at the same time showcase what the fantasy genre (of which there are so many ramifications) is truly about. For now, my answer is A Song of Ice and Fire. I have yet to read it but I loved the show, so I can only imagine how much better the books will be.

Why do you read?

I read because it’s so much fun! I can visit a thousand places without leaving my couch and learn so much from them. I just love the written word. The way it prompts me to make things up in my head. The way it can be manipulated and mastered. The way it can show so much and also nothing at all. In the end, it really feels like getting a piece of someone else’s soul.

tagging

That’s it! Have fun with this tag if you decide to do it and see you next time! 🙂

signature1


What is your favorite genre? Let me know below! (^_<)〜☆

handmade-social-icons-100handmade-social-icons-03handmade-social-icons-04handmade-social-icons-29handmade-social-icons-11

38 thoughts on “This is My Genre, Tell Me Yours Tag

  1. Some cool answers, reading is certainly fun with endless possibilities, though…..ASOIAF with out first reading it! lol The first three books are great but when you get to the fourth (A Feast for Crows) the standard dips quite a lot unfortunately but with the fifth he pulls it back slightly and we are still waiting for the next book! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahahaha yeah… Go big or go home, right? 😆 I just think any newcomer will probably get a decent taste of the genre by reading ASOIAF. And since Martin takes the longest time to cough up his books, there’s no rush to get there!
      Thanks for the insight, by the way. I definitely don’t know much about the books so far, only mixed opinions. But I got the entire series for Christmas so no excuses now 😛
      Thank you also for creating this tag! It was really fun coming up with answers to your questions 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah, you definitely have a point about newcomers getting a decent taste of the genre with ASOIAF. I think there’s only mixed opinions about the last two books, the first three are great but true, no rush as he takes ages to write the books!😂

        Ah, yes, the tag was my creation, nice to see it’s still around the blogging community, one of my better posts and ideas!😂

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Fantasy is such a fun genre. It can take you anywhere, make you anything. I used to be mostly into historical fiction but fantasy has taken me away a lot lately. When a book manages to mix the two it feels like a wonderful little present.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love historical too, mainly because I’m a sucker for past eras… They are just so magical. But I agree, a mix of the two has got to be the perfect genre 😊
      Thank you so much for stopping by!

      Like

  3. Thank you for the tag! I just did it and it will go up in a few days, loved it! I completely agree with that it is the worlds that pulls you back in to fantasy. The different places, the stories, the imagination… how can you not be intrigued?

    I hope you find your favourite fantasy author at some point. It is like having a safety blanket, that one author you know can pull you out of any reading slump and tell you stories better than anyone else.

    Like

    1. You’re right, it does! I just don’t have one I can call an absolute favorite at the moment but I really hope I do find it in the future.
      Can’t wait to read your answers! I’m sure it’ll be another awesome post from you 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

