Tags

Mean Girls Book Tag

mean-girls0

If you were a teenager in the ’00s you will remember Mean Girls. It’s a movie that will always stay with me for its hilarity, honesty and, most of all, relatability. It definitely dealt with important issues regarding feminism, friendship and women’s problems, cleverly disguised as an obnoxious comedy to make you double over with laughter. It became such a pop culture phenomenon that it even got itself an official day (and tons of memes and merchandise to boot).

So, to celebrate my love for Mean Girls, I decided to do this tag, which was created by Sarah Jane @ TheBookLife. Let’s begin!

1. Which fictional character’s names did you get completely wrong?

5.gif

Most fantasy books will keep you from getting you tongue around the names of fictional characters and places. It’s just how it is! Some notable examples are:

2. Which character would you like to place in a fictional world from another book or series?

tumblr_ocbvg2UWyl1qgwefso2_540.gif

I can’t say I’m a big fan of crossovers, but I do like to read about them when they areΒ  done well and make sense. Whenever the worlds are similar or certain characters seem to match each other personality-wise, my brain does seem to seek out ways to merge them and create storylines around their predicaments.

  • Suze from The Mediator series would kick ass alongside Penryn from Penryn and the End of Days. They’re both awesome, sarcastic and have a no bullshit policy, as well as sweet sidekicks to help them out when things get dire.

3. Repetition. Repetition. Repetition. Which book gave you deja-vu of another book whilst reading it?

tumblr_n4u2u87KMw1rkrnkxo2_250.gif

There are so many books that seem to recycle plotlines, worlds and even characters. I don’t mind that much, as long as it still manages to grab my attention and entertain me. You can use something that’s been done before and improve it substantially to the point where it doesn’t matter whether it’s completely original or not.

  • Ink and Bone was like a mix of Harry Potter and Fullmetal Alchemist in my opinion, which was still pretty cool.

4. Which book gave you the complete opposite of girl power feels?

9942841.gif

I tend to avoid these like the plague, but our paths do tend to cross at times:

  • Beautiful Disaster (its reputation transcends itself, so I won’t really need to explain it)
  • Awoken (I love this book)

5. Name a character you felt like you wanted to cheer on whilst reading.

giphy

6. How long do you typically spend at a book shop?

tumblr_myf7c5toNp1qaq9exo1_500.gif

I really depends if I have a specific book in mind to pick up or if I’m in a rush. Otherwise, I will spend an awful lot of time in there… Just going over shelves and checking books out. Do I actually buy anything in the end? Well…

7. Which character would have to get out a restraining order on you, if they were real?

tumblr_m6g6fuCP4s1rv82rjo1_500.gif

Although I much prefer them with their female leads.

8. Which overhyped book were you cautious about reading?

bcc27f30-1322-0131-9dba-5a8f5323b90a.gif

Looking for Alaska was a bit of a disappointment, and I knew it could be from the start so no surprises there. But I still waited a while to read it because I literally saw it everywhere and everyone raved about it with a passion. It was the first book I read by John Green, too.

9. We all love Regina George. Name a villain you just love to hate.

tumblr_lxyhxv9nps1rnye5to1_400

Cersei Lannister from A Song of Ice and Fire. I just find her hilarious and so cunning and clever one can’t help but admire her. She always has a plan up her sleeve and she will do anything to protect those she loves, even if it means killing or hurting others. She’s the perfect villain, because although she is an awful person, we know what drives her forward and why she does the things she does.

I find myself conflicted. Sometimes I just want to rip her hair out one by one. And sometimes I just want her to succeed in her schemes. Plus, she’s a badass woman thriving in a misogynistic world. What’s there not to love?

10. Your favourite fictional parents.

tumblr_n4u2u87KMw1rkrnkxo3_250.gif

I have to go with the Sevenwaters series, no particular set of parents in mind as they’re all really great. The series spans a ton of generations so it’s hard to name them without spoiling anyone. Let’s just say they’re brave, caring and fierce when it comes to protecting and raising their children.

11. Which book or series would you love to catch on?

so-fetch-gretchen-xmas-gif.gif

This is not a book series but a manga. It’s called Sand Chronicles and one of the first mangas I fell in love with. It was also the first one that made me cry my eyes out and feel my heart breaking. It’s truly wonderful and has a few volumes, so it will keep anyone busy for a while. I’m not sure how popular it is nowadays but I would like anyone to try it out. Ready the tissues, though!

12. Describe your ideal character to read about.

tumblr_mkxhrbAZyn1rns06do1_250.gif

My ideal character would be someone with a strong personality, not easily deterred from their path or ideals, but not overly moral to the point of boredom. Would probably be an anti-hero with a questionable reputation, or just someone who is highly conflicted. A character that I would support no matter what their decisions would be. Suffer when they suffered and be happy for their happiness. It would have to be someone vulnerable as well, for me to be able to connect with them, but not whiny or weak-minded.

Honestly, sometimes a character is none of these things and they’ll still manage to capture my heart. So there’s much more to it than just specific traits.

13. What do you do when a book gives you a bad case of β€˜the feels’?

Mean_girls_i_just_have_a_lot_of_feelings.gif

I don’t have a specific course of action. I will probably go on Tumblr or Pinterest and reblog the crap out of whatever is trampling my emotions. I will also go on YouTube and watch a lot of fanmade videos about it. And if there’s not a sequel or a prequel to turn to, then I will try to find similar books with similar plots or characters.

14. Which characters one liners would you love to claim for your own?

your-mums-chest-hair-gif.gif

Sh*t My Dad Says is basically a compilation of some of the greatest comebacks I have ever witnessed in a book before, and so I have to give this one to Mr. Halpern and his endless wisdom when it comes to the world and people. I wish I had half of his wittiness to use in my everyday life.

15. Name a time a character’s decision has made you roll your eyes

tumblr_o7uobbo9iJ1s1vzkoo2_400.gif

Katniss from The Hunger Games, especially towards the end of the series, annoyed me beyond reason with her decisions, be it regarding her love interests or just situations in general. Some made no sense and others were simply outrageously silly. She became very frustrating for me and one of the reasons why I fell out of love with the series.


So there you have it! A really grool tag for anyone feeling nostalgic about one awesome movie. Let me know in the comments below if you like Mean Girls or not, and what would your answers be!

handmade-social-icons-100handmade-social-icons-03handmade-social-icons-04handmade-social-icons-29handmade-social-icons-11

Save

Save

Save

2 thoughts on “Mean Girls Book Tag

  1. Love love love Mean Girls. I realllyyyyy wish I could do this tag, but alas, I don’t think I read enough fiction these days to actually be able to answer most of these questions! Basically every question would be from Harry Potter or the Hunger Games.

    Like

    1. Keep reading more books and then try the tag out! It’s pretty cool and a must for any Mean Girls fan πŸ™‚
      I always feel like I haven’t read enough either… but what’s important is enjoying yourself!

      Like

Leave a Reply

